This page hosts all relevant legislation and action plans that relates directly or indirectly to agriculture. The portal will direct you to the relevant documentation according to your topic of interest.

The Department of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development (DARLLD) and the Department of Foresty, Fisheries and the Environment (DEFF) are the primary national departments that guide policy and programmes for agriculture within South Africa. DARRLD's vision is equitable access to land, integrated rural development, sustainable agriculture and food security for all. Their priorities are:

  • spatial transformation and effective land administration
  • redress and equitable access to land and producer support
  • increased production in the agricultural sector
  • increased market access and maintenance of existing markets
  • integrated and inclusive rural economy
  • enhanced biosecurity and effective disaster and risk reduction

DEFF is responsible for protecting, conserving and improving the South African environment and natural resources. The branches of DEFF deal with:

  • Air quality and climate change
  • Biodiversity and conversation
  • Chemicals and waste management
  • Environmental Advisory Services
  • Environmental programmes
  • Legal authorisations and compliance inspectorate
  • Oceans and coasts